Yvonne and Jay’s Niu Year Party

Raise the red lanterns

Raise the red lanterns

I love to entertain but have had to trim things down since the onset of Fibromyalgia. Chinese New Year’s Celebration however, a tradition I started in 2003, is a rite I am determined to carry on. Now, having given my 5th Chinese New Year party at my house on Feb 7, I feel satisfied and complete with my 2009 Chinese New Year Celebration. I am grateful to have so many friends to share with a cultural heritage I deeply care about. I thank everyone for coming and bringing foods, beverage, beer, wine and presents. I hope to see you again next year. Until then I’ll cherish the moments caught on camera.

My front door decked with Chinese Knots

My front door decked with Chinese Knots


Chinese knot, 中国结, is a unique and wondrous craftwork. Each hanging ornament, apart from the tassel, is made out of a single cord. Tried for at least five thousand years of time, the craftsmanship has evolved and developed into innumerable intricate designs that are available today. Here on my front door is a Double Fish Knot flanked by two Flower Knots. See more about Chinese knot on the following site: http://www.zhongguojie.org/.

New Year’s decoration inside

New Year’s decoration inside


Red lanterns raised, posters taped up, ornaments hung up and the stuff ox set on the basket of red bags, the house was ready for partying.

Snacks center

Snacks center


Snacks I purchased from different Asian grocery stores included Lishi Candy (利是糖), black and white sesame candy ships, peanut brittles, almond cookies, red melon seeds, shrimp flavored fries, roast peanuts and Clementine. Ginger candies and other candies brought by Ivy were added to the snack table later.

Appetizers

Appetizers


Appetizers included fried dumplings and Crab Rangoon from New China, BBQ ribs that Marie brought, Spring rolls Fan made and more friend dumplings that Na made. We also served two types of soup: Wonton soup from New China and Ox Tail soup my neighbor Dana made.

Main dishes

Main dishes


Main dishes included Platter of Roast Pork and Roast Duck from Hong Kong BBQ, General Tso’s chicken and Mongolian Beef from New China, Vegetarian Noodle with fried Tofu that Susan made and dishes that I made: Fried noodle with fried eggs and carrots shredded, Tofu with black mushroom, Cabbage with wooden ears and honeysuckles, Zucchini Salad and Platter of pickled and preserved appetizers (salted eggs, thousand year old eggs, spicy bamboo shoots and sweet and sour mustards).

More dishes

More dishes


In addition to the popular spring rolls, Fan made these as well: Fried Rice, Boiled and Salted Chicken and Pork Ribs braised in soy sauce.

Deserts

Deserts


Deserts were Brownies from Sherri and a few things that I made: Sticky Balls (sticky rice flour balls with peanut paste filling, Eight Treasure Rice (sticky rice cake with red bean paste filling inside and dried cranberries outside) and Pumpkin rolls.

Chocolate dipped Lichees

Chocolate dipped Lichees


It was fantastic to have some of my guests creative and brave enough to try making something Chinese: Cathy made Chocolate dipped Lichees, Dana made Ox tail soup and Susan made Vegetarian noodle with mixed veggies and fried Tofu. Isn’t internet wonderful? They found the recipes from the web.

Here comes the party favors

Here comes the party favors


I gave my guests (about 40 of them) party favors of Chinese handicrafts. Each family got to pick from the basket a red bag with a fortune in it. The fortune revealed which of the following the guest was to get: one Top surprise (a cloisonné vase), two Runner up surprises ( two chopstick sets, each having two pairs of decorative chopsticks in a bamboo box), three Third Place surprises (3 medium sized hanging ornaments) or the smaller embroidered ornaments.

Juli’s turn

Juli’s turn


Diana, the lucky winner of the Top surprise of the cloisonné vase, looked on as Juli finding out she was to receive a Third Place surprise. Tracy’s daughter and Fan’s son Patrick got the other two Third Place surprises. Caroline and Sydney got the two Runner Up surprises.

Jay, Jack, Marie and Susan

Jay, Jack, Marie and Susan

Garry, Sherri and their girls, Susan, Amy and Travis hid behind Amy

Garry, Sherri and their girls, Susan, Amy and Travis hid behind Amy

Patrick, Robby, Ben and Jordan

The teens: Patrick, Robby, Ben and Jordan

Jay, Yvonne, Tracy and her kids

Jay, Yvonne, Tracy and her kids

Caroline, Susan, Juli, Yvonne and Ivy

Girl friends: Caroline, Susan, Juli, Yvonne and Ivy


It was wonderful Juli made it this year from Knoxville and Caroline came back from London just in time.

Mike, Fan, Jay, Yvonne, Xuejun and Na

Mike, Fan, Jay, Yvonne, Xuejun and Na


The beautiful jackets my husband and I garbed in were gifts from Fan who bought them in China a couple years back.

Yvonne, Jay, Cathy, Robby, Jordan and Ben

Yvonne, Jay, Cathy, Robby, Jordan and Ben

Patrick and Jane

Mike and Fan’s kids: Patrick and Jane

6 Responses

  1. Thanks so much for the party, it was a wonderful dinner. Great pictures!

  2. How fun! The food looks so delicious! I’m so jealous.

  3. I wish we could have been there too – the food looks delicious – I can even smell it ! Yum ! And the decorations look very festive, guests having a good time. Seems like a big success.

  4. Wowww that food looks great, I wish I could have came out for this! LOL – so, what are you guys doing NYE 2010? 🙂

Leave a comment