London Diary – Winter Wander Weekend

 

Jan 26, 2016
Many here love walking/hiking. And when you’ve had a taste of the extensive web of beautiful “foot paths”, easily accessed throughout the country, you’d understand why. It is not simply escaping to the country of open space, fresh air and delightful scenery. It is also rich history and architecture you’d encounter along the way. The enticement is irresistible.

I’ve done some walks here and there in England, loved every single one and forever looking to do more. A few weeks ago, I found out about a great opportunity, a long list of free guided walks in and around London sponsored by London Transportation was offered for the weekend of 23rd and 24th. I could hardly contain my excitement. Many routes looked fantastic but I finally decided, Richmond to Busy Park (9 miles) for Sat and River Walk in Hammersmith (3.5miles) for Sun.

That was to be the first of this organized walk that happens at most 2/3 times a year. Alas, a bad cold hit before the weekend. Although still battling the cold, I couldn’t help but try. I went but had to stop before long. I got as far as Ham House (one mile down) and turned back. It was however enough to whet my appetite.

Richmond is a pretty London suburb on the river Thames and the route is part of the longer Thames Path that stays close to the riverside. The list is also a wealth of information. I hope to catch up with the group next time, if not, I’ve picked up many walks to do on my own.

Here is the listing of the walks, http://www.walklondon.org.uk/

National Trust has a great walking route for Richmond and Ham House. The views from Richmond Hill and Henry VIII’s Mound are lovely. See link for details, http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/ham-house-and-garden/trails/ham-house-from-richmond-walk

 

Leave a Reply

