England 2014 (overview) – A dream come true

I fell in love with Europe at first sight about eleven years ago. I’ve gone back as much as I can and every visit to Europe only makes me want to go back more. Since the visit to Spain in 2012, it had been a two year hiatus, it was clear that a dose of European fix was overdue.

And this year, no place excited more like England. England was beckoning because Jane Austen was calling; Charlotte Bronte, Elizabeth Gaskell, Daphne du Maurier, Agatha Christi and Barbara Cartland were calling; Cranford and Downton Abbey were calling.

A fantasy was stoked and a plan hatched. The happy ending was that I did get a two week holiday in England that took me to Bath, Ladcock, Highclere, Hampshire, Jurassic Coast from Dorset to Devon, Greenway of Devon, Fowey of Cornwall, Oxford and London. While every place that I visited is great in its own right, making my pilgrimage to Jane Austen’s Bath and Hampshire, Agatha Christi’s Green way in Devon and Daphne du Maurier’s Fowey in Cornwall was a dream come true.

I was inspired, motivated, excited and elated, the entire time, more than any other vacation that I can remember. Here is to share that experience in the following 8 posts.

Leave a Reply

