Christmas Tree

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!



I marvel that Thanksgiving, Christmas and Chinese New Year, the three most celebrated holidays in my cultural spectrum, all fall in the wintery season. Imagine one entire quarter of the year in short days and long cold nights without any of these holidays? And this year Christmas has come in better timing than ever. Breathing the Christmas spirits into my heart and turning my attention to the others, it has been a good distraction keeping me from falling deeper into an emotional mire of sadness and sorriness, result of failed last attempt at a personal pursuit I devoted myself to and a shattered dream.

I had always been enthusiastic about the Christmas Holiday and usually started early with the shopping but this year I didn’t feel the zeal till the inauguration of our Christmas tree. In our home, Christmas tree is, like Kumquat is to Chinese New Year in the Ca~tonese area, indispensable to the Christmas Holiday. After different types of trees and lights, we happily settled down 5 years back on this plastic tree with optic fiber lights that is to me just perfect in shape and size, with no maintenance requirement and free of fire hazard.

This year I had my husband and son help set up and trim our tree. There were oohs and ahs from the boys as they went through my collection of ornaments. Some years ago I made it a goal to pick up at least one special ornament a year, commemorating an event or a trip. The collection, including Baby’s First Christmas from Precious Moment, ornament from Capri Island(2003), Swarovski Snow Flake from 2004 and ornament from Opera House of Venice(2007), has grown and along with other special items take the most conspicuously spot of the tree, the entire front. “The tree is ready” my husband and son announced beaming at the beautiful tree. It was, after I gave it my finishing touch by making some rearrangements. Then came the time to plug the tree in. When the lights were turned on, our tree, radiating pride and overflowing with joy, received cheers. I, feeling the tingle of excitement, was one step closer to the holiday.

Guiding Angel Tops the Tree

Guiding Angel Tops the Tree

Wedgewood Icon Ornament 2008

Wedgewood Icon Ornament 2008

Santa Clause on Seashell from Savannah, GA

Santa Clause on Seashell from Savannah, GA

Christmas Tree My Son Made in Kindergarten

Christmas Tree My Son Made in Kindergarten

Angel on Pink Seashell from the Bahamas

Angel on Pink Seashell from the Bahamas

Heart of Love and Star of Joy from My Mother in Law

Heart of Love and Star of Joy from My Mother in Law

Year 2005 My Sister&Family Expected but Did Not Make It

Year 2005 My Sister&Family Expected but Did Not Make It

Ginger Bread Home for 2006

Ginger Bread Home for 2006

Leave a Reply

